The Real Meaning(s) of “I Don’t Know”

How many times have you got confused from getting a response you can’t relate to. Well, if you are smart, you must have known that sometimes an expression does not always stand for its own literal meaning. And that also applies for the “I Don’t Know” thingy, which actually could mean a lot of things.

Look at these questions: “What do you think looks better? The red one or the blue one?”, “Do you know why she keeps flirting with me?”, “Hi, which religion you think is the best?”, “Do you think it’s possible for me to lose 50 pounds in a month?”, “What do you think is happening to my relationship with her mother?”, “I don’t know why people don’t like me, do you?”, and many more. They are the questions we probably often answer with “I don’t know” or so in real and even digital life.

I’ve summarized some real meanings of the usage of “I Don’t Know” and here are some of them:

  • I don’t want to answer because I know you don’t really want to hear it.
  • I am too tired to explain what I have in my mind, it’ll take my time, and I am not having it now.
  • I want to and I have the time to give you the answer, but I am afraid you won’t understand anyway. So, what’s the point?
    It’s going to be a waste of time.
  • I have a very constructive and substantial along with a lot of theories to ellaborate it, but I don’t want to seem to show-off.
    So, I’ll skip.
  • I don’t like you, so, I’m not going to respond to you. Take that, ass!
  • I know you are testing my knowledge, and I hate it to be treated like a school kid, so, whatever!
  • I don’t know what you are really asking about, your question is not understandable.
  • I am not going to give an answer because your question is a trap to open a debate and I am fed up of getting into your
    drama, I had enough!
  • I really don’t know, I don’t have the answer for that.
  • I don’t need to answer that, however, there’s someone else who yearns to answer that for you. I am giving that person the chance.
  • You’ve asked that question again? I’ve answered you countless time. Are you playing with me?
  • Your question is an opening line to converse with me, and I am not in the mood, so I am not going to open the door for you. Sorry.
  • Hey, I’ve got to go now for a more important thing to do. Bye!
  • Oooops, I don’t hear your question, but I don’t want to make you think I am not paying attention.
  • I think you know the answer already.
  • It took me a lot of time to get this answer, so no, I’m not going to make it easy for you. Suffer. Like. Me!
  • I am reading a book, please don’t disturb my concentration.
  • You are not mature enough to recieve the answer I am going to give you.
  • Your question is insulting me, how come you can be so insensitive?
  • I don’t think it’s the right time to talk about this.
  • You didn’t answer my previous question, and now you want me to answer yours?
  • Oh gosh, why everything is should be all about you?
  • I have an opinion, but I know you’ll find it stupid, well, I’ll save myself.
  • Not in any chance I am going to explain that and sound like a nerd.
  • I have explained that over and over again and you still don’t understand, it’s time to shut you up.
  • You’ve never listened to my opinion, and I have had enough of being turned down and rejected. Ciao!

I still have some of them, but too much is not good, so, that’s all I can give you.

Thanks for reading!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Real Meaning(s) of “I Don’t Know”

  1. Zen says:

    It’s really interesting to see how just three words can carry so much meaning, and I admit to thinking about some of these when saying “I don’t know.”

  2. Irwan Juanda says:

    I know,,, and it’s funny that those 3 words always come in our everyday conversation with different meanings at times, I mean, it happens. Btw, thanks for reading, liking, and commenting. Appreciate. 😀

Leave a Reply

