The Paradox of Making Mistake

It is something we can’t avoid, it’s like breathing oxygen to stay alive for mankind. Of course it’s not as often as that activity. Well, in here I’m just trying to emphasize the inevitability of making mistake, or should I write it in plural? Mistakessssssssss…

So, here’s a little story of last night, which brought me to write this post. I was watching The Client, yeah, the one with Susan Sarandon and Tommy Lee Jones in it, a movie released in 1994, a great movie, anyway, in one scene, the bad guy whose name I can’t barely remember said, “This time I won’t make anymore mistake.” to his uncle or so.

There, he was reffering to find the body he secretly buried and couldn’t get rid of because of his ‘mistake’ in the previous scene. So when he said that he won’t make anymore mistake in the context of what he’ll do,

I’ve come to realize about the fact that a mistake is not always a mistake,

sometimes a mistake is a good thing if it uncertainly happens in a certain situation. In this case, if he really makes another mistake, he’ll get caught because of his fault of killing a person and that’s a good thing, right? Otherwise, if he doesn’t make mistake, he’ll be able cover his fault and the police will lose the proof of his killing.

Another case is about the event that a lot of people probably already knew. Yes, I believe we’ve also heard about the story where a person forgot to bring something to his office that made him has to go back home and thankfully made him late to arrive at the office which was bombed or collapsed at the time he supposed to be there in the first time, or the story about a person who missed his flight and luckly survived the plane crash.

Is that still can be considered a mistake?

Is it a mistake if you wake up late to go to school and you survived a bad thing because of that ‘mistake’ of being overslept?

Now, here’s the paradox of making mistake, isn’t it funny if we call something that saved a life as a mistake? I mean, to forgot to bring your passport to the airport and survived a plane crash is not a mistake, but, to forgot to bring a passport to the airport is definitely a mistake, see the twisted part here? It is not right, right? Isn’t it very ambiguous, if you heard someone says,

“I was right because I did that mistake“?

Personally, when I looked back to the mistakes I did in the past. There’re a lot of them I don’t want to change even if I can go back to the past because I know if I didn’t do those, I won’t be where I am and who I am right now, and I don’t want to be anyone else but myself. Now, let’s go back to the first sentence in this paragraph, when I wrote ‘mistakes’ there, I believe you as the reader will refer to bad stuffs, wrong actions, inappropriate decisions, but for me, it was the right thing to do at that time and yes it’s still even though it’s a mistake. Well, I think my whole point here can be summarized by this quote below.

“Failure is the key to success; each mistake teaches us something.” Morihei Ueshiba

In the end, I don’t want to make this post even longer since I’m not good in writing long post. But before, I hope you guys don’t mind sharing your experience about your ‘right-mistake’ here if you have one, I’d love to read it.

Thank you before.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Paradox of Making Mistake

  1. Should I say that sometimes being in love is a right-kind of mistake? That you may be able to love someone but at the same time it is a mistake when the other person is… someone else? But you feel right of loving the person anyway because it makes you… alive?
    Or drinking in the office (alcoholic beverage i might say) is wrong, but it’s actually can make you bear your unbearable boss?
    And perhaps, fighting with your parents is truly wrong, but you make it right because you, in the end, can release whatever emotion you’ve been holding on for so long and that they at last see things from your point of view?
    There are a lot of “right-mistake”, but again, I feel that is all about how you see it in the end.
    That’s my opinion though.

    BR ^_^

Leave a Reply

