8 Main Reasons Why I Love Oprah Winfrey

She is the queen of talkshow. She has her own magazine, television network, company, and more. She is successful in the aspects of material and spiritual. She is smart. She is funny. She is genuine. She is influental. She is Oprah Gail Winfrey.

I forgot when is the first time I know her but I remember it probably was because I watched The Oprah Winfrey show when it was aired in my country here in Indonesia (thanks to MetroTv). Ever since then, I always save my time especially on Saturday and Sunday to watch every single of her show: and for me, 90% of her shows are always great to watch.

Some are about very inspiring life stories, educational topics of global issues (that most people usually haven’t realized yet), newest trends of something, medical information (along with Dr. Oz), controversy of something, in-depth interviews with some people about their ‘news’ which have never been discussed yet (or approached from another angle), house make-overs with Nate Berkus, cooking demonstrations with Paula Deen, and yeah, many more.

It’s so sad that she is going to end her show, but for me that’s totally acceptable since it’s been 20 years and in that length of time, I believe it’s super okay if she wants to end it to do something different.

Here, then, as a big fan, I want to share my 8 main reasons why I love, adore, and above all make her my role model:

1. She is very open-minded

I love how she treats and doesn’t judge people (especially minorities) like the homosexuals, secluded religious cults, communities, deviants, or elses. I remember watching one of her interviews with a woman who killed her own parent (family), Oprah doesn’t push her and tell her this and that, all she does is to listen to her story and that’s good, she teaches us to look at something in multi-views. Another one is when there’s an affair of a priest who then get married to a girl and breaking his own oath of not getting married. There’s also an interview with a poligamous family, Oprah doesn’t try to change anything out from them, she listens and tries to understand, something that most people don’t do, right?

2. She is a generous angel

Oprah loves to help people. Giving surprises to a mother whose life is so horrible. Paying scholarships for those in needs. She encourages people to Give Big. She gives a car to every audience in her studio in one of her show. She builds houses for certain people who really need them. She gives educations to people in the third-world such as South Africa and actively fights against AIDS, slavery, discrimination, and poverty. Most of all she gathers people to help each others and that’s very great. She has donated millions of dollars to various charities and organizations, with most of her money going to three foundations: The Angel Network, The Oprah Winfrey Foundation, and The Oprah Winfrey Operating Foundation. She builds Katrina homes, The Oprah Winfrey Academy for Girls, and many many many more. Not to mention about her rebuilding the Gulf Coast. It is said that she has donated 1 billion dollars to charity, and I believe the amount will keep increasing.

3. She is an animal-lover

Especially for dogs. Yeah, she is. Here I have a prove of her love for animals:

“Winfrey was named as the 2008 Person of the Year by animal-rights group People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals PETA for using her fame and listening audience to help the less fortunate, including animals. PETA praised Winfrey for using her talk show to uncover horrific cases of cruelty to animals in puppy mills and on factory farms, and Winfrey even used the show to highlight the cruelty-free vegan diet that she tried.”

Courtesy of Wikipedia

This shows that she cares about living creatures and actually even the non-living things such as environment. I love to think that she’s very responsible to everything outside of her which she is related to, she gratitudes life.

4. She has sense of humor

I remember watching her shows and in certain episodes I laughed because of her jokes. Sometimes she looks at her old self and says something funny about it. She makes funny expressions. She is just adorable. If you don’t trust me, check here: http://www.oprah.com/oprahshow/Dr-Oz-and-Oprahs-Funniest-Moments-Video

5. She loves books

Yeah! Oprah Book Club is the prove. She recommends books, great books in fact. I love people who love books. Period. And, uh, in her very busy life, she still has time to read books, isn’t that’s something? Oh and not to forget when she’s having a interview with J.K. Rowling, I mean, 2 of my most favorite people gathers and the things they are talking about are wonderful and very mind-opening. About coping with ambitions, wait,wait, this shouldn’t be here… okay, cut it.

6. She is a great teacher

Like i said on number 5, her shows are mind-opening. I love her tips. I love the information she gives. I frankly feel smarter just by watching her shows. I obtain may information about health, relationship, world issue, technology, food, fashion, lifestyle, psychology, place, people, I mean, almost everything. Above all, Oprah teaches love and understanding. Oh my God, i really sounded like her fanatic fan.

7. She has a lot of friends

From actress, doctors, jurnalits, writers, singers, businessman, she has it all. I love to see her interacting with her friends, making jokes, talking about their habits, being silly to each other. I don’t know, I might sound weird but that makes her natural and friendly.

8. She makes great quotes

It’s her wisdom words. Most and I think almost all of them are very deep and meaningful. Here are one of them:

“Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough.”

There, I think I have mentioned my 8 main reasons why I love Oprah Winfrey. This’s all I need to and can say. “Love you, Oprah.”

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

